In addition to the Board of Directors, AHF's committees work to guide the association's strategic initiatives. Theses committees provide an opportunity for AHF members to use their unique experiences and skills to promote and defend the self-operated healthcare foodservice industry.


The Auction Committee develops, maintains and administers the AHF auction to assist the funding of the national scholarship program at the annual conference.
Chair:   Ralph Goldbeck   |   Dave Reeves


The Awards Committee develops, maintains and administers the AHF Awards Program annually presented at the Annual Conference.
Chairs:   Robert Darrah   |   Mary Angela Miller


The Benchmarking Committee reviews and makes recommendations for the use and maintenance of AHF Benchmarking Express program and develops tools and resources that support program use.
Chairs:   Mary Fonville   |   Margaret Kipe

Chapter Advisory Board

The Chapter Advisory Board is an official and direct link between the chapters, membership, national board of directors, and national headquarters staff.
Chairs:   Randy Sparrow   |   Angela O'Neill

Conference Planning Committee

The Conference Planning Committee (CPC) is chaired by an operator and a business partner. Members of the committee include the president, president-elect, treasurer, business partners, and other members as deemed necessary by the AHF president. The CPC plans the Annual Conference.
Chairs:   Deedra Hoffart   |   Annemarie Vaupel

Culinary Competition

The Culinary Competition Committee is responsible for developing and administering the Culinary Competition during the Annual Conference including soliciting entries, selecting finalists, securing judges, and program execution.
Chairs:   Candi Johnson   |   Stacy Chesney


The E-Library Committee develops an online collaboration center that links members to resources such as self-op transition guides, archived webinars, and leadership development tools.
Chairs:   Nicole Charbonneau   |   Joy Petterson

Editorial Advisory Board

The Editorial Advisory Board (EAB) is responsible for the editorial content of S.O. Connected, AHF's quarterly magazine.
Chairs:   Cyndi Roberts   |   Tim Bentzel


The Education Committee creates the tools and educational resources that promote best practices. Duties center on curriculum development, including webinars, educational sessions, and identifying subject matter experts.
Chairs:   Joanne McMillian   |   Mary Ruzzi


The Membership Committee develops strategies to drive membership growth and submits recommendations for membership categories, structure, and costs.
Chairs:   Martha Rardin   |   Becky Amt

Self-Operated Project Team

The Self-Op Project Team develops resources to promote and defend self-operated foodservice, and offers assistance to all AHF Operator Members.
Chairs:   Bill Marks   |   Lisa Schairer