AHF Member Randall J. Sparrow – IFMA Silver Plate Award Recipient

By Christin Swingle posted 9 days ago


Man with glasses in black suit jacket, blue dress shirt, and yellow ties.AHF would like to congratulate AHF past-president, Randall J. Sparrow, Director, Food & Environmental Services, ProHealth Care on winning the prestigious 2023 Silver Plate Award from the International Foodservice Manufacturers Association (IFMA) for healthcare.

“Since 1954, IFMA has recognized extraordinary operator executives with the IFMA Silver Plate Award. Winners are chosen from a slate of industry nominees by a distinguished jury of trade press editors and previous award winners.” Randy received his award at the 69th Annual IFMA Gold & Silver Plate Awards Celebration at Chicago Union Station.

Randy is a long-time member of AHF and has mentored many emerging leaders within the self-operated healthcare foodservice industry. Randy is actively involved on multiple National and local AHF committees and is the immediate past-president of the AHF Wisconsin Chapter, remaining actively involved with initiatives such as the Midwest Chapter Conference.   

Randy joins a distinguished list of previous IFMA Silver Plate Award Winners including other AHF past-presidents, board members, members, and dedicated operators from the AHF self-operated community.

Congratulations, Randy, on winning this extraordinary award!

Previous IFMA Silver Plate Award in Healthcare Winners that are also AHF Members:

2022 Cheryl Shimmin

Executive Director of Retail, Culinary, & Nutrition Care

Kettering Health

2021 Antoinette “Toni” Watkins

Director, System Nutrition

Riverside Health System

2020 Eric Eisenberg

Director of Dining Services

Rogue Valley Manor

2019 Bill Marks

Director, Food Nutrition and Environmental Services

Hennepin Healthcare

2018 Jim McGrody

Culinary Director

UNC Rex Healthcare

2017 Patti Oliver

Director of Nutrition

UCLA Health System

2016 Diane Imrie

Director of Nutrition Services

University of Vermont Medical Center

2015 Julie Jones

Director, Nutrition Services

Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

2014 Lisette Coston

Executive Director of Support Services

Saint Francis Health System

2013 Angelo Mojica

Director of Nutrition & Services/ Associate Professor

UNC Hospitals/UNC Gillings School of Global Health

2012 Dan Henroid, MS, RD

Director, Nutrition and Food Services

UCSF Medical Center

2011 Bruce Thomas, MBA

Associate Vice President of Guest Services

Geisinger Health Systems

2010 Tony Almeida

Director, Food &

Nutrition/Environmental/Host Services

Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital

2009 Betty J. Perez, RD, DHCFA

Director of Food & Nutrition Services University of Medicine & Dentistry of

New Jersey - The University Hospital

2008 Mary Angela Miller

Administrative Director, Nutrition Services

Ohio State University Wexner Medical


2007 Kris Schroeder

Director of Nutrition Services

Swedish Medical Center