AHF Announces 2019 Award Winners Across Seven Categories

By Leah Reily posted 08-20-2019 10:50


The Association for Healthcare Foodservice (AHF) recognized the winners of its 2019 awards at its annual conference on August 7, 2019 in Scottsdale, AZ. The AHF awards program consists of seven categories ranging in themes that cover excellent leadership to improved operations and recognition for new managers.

“It’s truly an honor to recognize these outstanding individuals for their valuable contributions to our industry,” said AHF President Martha Rardin, Director, Nutrition and Dietetics at Hendricks Regional Health.  “It’s inspiring to see how our operators are looking beyond even best practices to create new paths to solving challenges and serving communities in innovative ways.”

2019 Awards Recipients

Partnership In Leadership Award

This award recognizes operator member facilities that demonstrate a strong commitment to self-operation and currently supports the foodservice director or foodservice administrative director.
Kathy Kesling; Franciscan Health

Spotlight Award

This award recognizes an operator member who has enhanced operations through technology, program development, implementation, innovation and /or creative use of managing finances.
Seth Grant; Ezkenazi Health

Benchmarking Award of Excellence

This award recognizes a healthcare facility that has used AHF Benchmarking EXPRESS™ consistently; showed improvement in KPI’s and utilized data to improve their operations.
Mary Houston; Mercy Joplin

Future Horizons Award

This award recognizes operator members who are new to management and demonstrate a desire for future growth through contributions to their hospitals or community.
Andrew Bergman; ProHealth Care

Exemplary Leadership Award

This award is bestowed upon the operator member who best reflects the commitment to operational excellence that Don Marsh brought to healthcare foodservice. The award recognizes member contributions in their operations as well as to regional, local chapters or networking meetings.
Timothy Schoonmaker; Centra Health

Chapter of the Year Award

This award recognizes an AHF Local Chapter that promotes the overall Association's mission.
Wisconsin Chapter

Sustainability (NEW FOR 2019)

This award recognizes operator members who implemented or continuously improved and expanded foodservice waste reduction programs on the path to sustainability.  Areas include food waste reduction, waste storing programs, composting, recycling, water conservation, improving use of reusable, and food donation programs.
Dawn Cascio; The Valley Hospital