Healthcare Chefs From Tennessee, Minnesota, and Virginia Receive Top Honors at Industry’s Renowned Event

By Leah Reily posted 08-20-2019 10:53

FWe4zfQaTi6GDLOZLr8y_48537284077_3febea6ec4_o (2)-M.jpgThe Association for Healthcare Foodservice (AHF) announced the gold, silver and bronze medal culinary team winners of the 2019 AHF annual Culinary Competition.  Gold medal winners Richard Farmer and Michael Vetro were presented with the top award at the Culinary Reception during the AHF annual conference at the Westin Kierland Resort and Spa in Scottsdale, AZ.

New in 2019, there was a mandatory market basket concept that was used. Teams chose either 1 item from Market basket A and 2 from Market basket B or chose 3 items in Market basket B to create their original recipe. Each original recipe was required to follow certain nutritional and cost guidelines and be appropriate to serve in the team’s operation; whether retail, catering or patient feeding.

“The annual AHF Culinary Competition is one of the highlights of not only our annual conference but of the entire year,” said AHF President Martha Rardin, Director, Nutrition and Dietetics at Hendricks Regional Health. “2019 is AHF’s 10th anniversary and these dishes accurately showcased the excellence to which AHF chefs have aspired these past 10 years. It’s a thrill to honor these innovative and creative chefs for representing the culinary pinnacle of healthcare foodservice.”

The 2019 Culinary Competition Winners are:

Gold Medal:  Richard Farmer, CEC  and Michael Vetro, CEC St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital (Memphis, TN):  Mushroom Tamale with Chipotle Pork-Jicama Slaw, Red Mole' and Garden Guacamole

Silver Medal:  Alan Hudalla and Sarah Martz, Cuyuna Regional Medical Center & Heartwood Senior Living (Crosby, MN):  Duck Breast Roulade filled with Figs, Chevre and Shiitake Mushrooms

Bronze Medal:  Jon Smith and Timothy Schoonmaker, CEC, Centra Lynchburg General Hospital (Lynchburg, VA):  Southwestern Ancho Pork with Yukon Gold Mash, sauteed baby carrots and Broccolini, topped with Jicama and Pear Slaw

The judges for the 2019 AHF Culinary Competition were:

  • Culinary Director Diane Menzie, 2018 AHF Culinary Competition Gold Medalist
  • Executive Chef Robert Navarrete, 2018 AHF Culinary Competition Gold Medalist
  • Chef David Roldan, Executive Sous Chef from the Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
  • Chef Matthew Jordan, Corporate Executive Chef at Nestle Professional
  • Chef Raul Roges from IU Health- Methodist Hospital