AHF Announces 2021 National Award Winners Across Seven Categories

By Leah Reily posted 21 days ago


Washington, D.C. – September 1, 2021 – The Association for Healthcare Foodservice (AHF) recognized the winners of its 2021 national awards at its annual conference on August 25, 2021 in Dallas, TX. The AHF awards program consists of seven categories ranging in themes that cover exceptional leadership to improved operations and recognition for managers new to the industry.

“Even with all of the challenges we’ve encountered this year, these individuals have still made significant contributions to their facilities and inspired many others in our ever-changing industry,” said AHF President Ryan Conklin, Director and Executive Chef of UNC REX Healthcare. “It’s quite an honor to recognize these operators who have continued to find solutions to the challenges that we have faced both currently in the future.”




Exemplary Leadership Award

This award is bestowed upon the operator member who best reflects the commitment to operational excellence that Don Marsh brought to healthcare foodservice. The award recognizes member contributions in their operations as well as to regional, local chapters or networking meetings.

Angela O’Neill, Hunterdon Medical Center


Partnership In Leadership Award

This award recognizes operator member facilities that demonstrate a strong commitment to self-operation and currently supports the foodservice director or foodservice administrative director.

Seth Grant and Lois Dennison; Eskenazi Health


Future Horizons Award

This award recognizes operator members who are new to management and demonstrate a desire for future growth through contributions to their hospitals or community.

Alicia Preston, Rogue Valley Manor


Spotlight Award

This award recognizes an operator member who has enhanced operations through technology, program development, implementation, innovation and /or creative use of managing finances.

Erica Block, Rush University Medical Center

Benchmarking Award of Excellence

This award recognizes a healthcare facility that has used AHF Benchmarking EXPRESS™ consistently; showed improvement in KPI’s and utilized data to improve their operations.

Heather Duffy, JFK Medical Center



This award recognizes operator members who implemented or continuously improved and expanded foodservice waste reduction programs on the path to sustainability.  Areas include food waste reduction, waste storing programs, composting, recycling, water conservation, improving use of reusable, and food donation programs.

Gina Sadowski, Seattle Children’s Hospital

Chapter of the Year Award

This award recognizes an AHF Local Chapter that promotes the overall Association's mission.

AHF New Jersey Chapter


About AHF

Formed in 2009, the Association for Healthcare Foodservice is composed of food and nutrition professionals from facilities that are self-operated (independent). AHF provides the professional network, resources, and tools to promote self-operated foodservice and hospitality in healthcare, senior dining, and related industries. AHF is committed to providing high-quality, nutritious, and comforting meals to those in our care: Our patients and their families.