AHF Members can now submit nominations for the available awards listed below. The AHF Awards Committee will consider all completed applications only. Award winners will be recognized at the 2019 Annual Conference in Scottsdale, Arizona, August 6-8. We will continue to celebrate our award recipients in our publications, like the S.O. Connected following conference.

To see the list of past award recipients, click here.

Before you get started, download the 2019 Awards Program Guidelines.
To apply: Submit a nomination using the online form. You must submit one form for each nomination. Applicants will be able to edit their submissions up until the deadline, March 29 at 5:00 PM Eastern.

Please note that select finalists will be interviewed via phone by a member of the awards committee. You will be given an opportunity to further support what you have included in the form submission. If you have any questions about the application process or supporting documentation, please contact AHF Staff.

Available Awards:

Sustainability - NEW 2019!

This award recognizes operator members who implemented or continuously improved and expanded foodservice waste reduction programs on the path to sustainability.  Areas include food waste reduction, waste storing programs, composting, recycling, water conservation, improving use of reusable, and food donation programs.

Benchmarking Award of Excellence

This award recognizes a healthcare facility who has used AHF Benchmarking EXPRESS™ consistently, showed improvement in KPI’s and utilized data to improve their operations.

Chapter of the Year Award

This award recognizes an AHF Local Chapter that promotes the overall Association's mission.

Exemplary Leadership Award

This award will be bestowed upon the operator member who best reflects the commitment to operational excellence that Don Marsh brought to healthcare foodservice. Don Marsh, former president of the American Society for Healthcare Food Service Administrators (ASHFSA), was dedicated to the healthcare profession and to his colleagues. He was a longtime supporter of programs to raise professionalism of operators in the healthcare foodservice industry and was known to contribute generously. The award will recognize member contributions in their operations as well as to regional, local chapters or networking meetings.

Future Horizon Award

This award recognizes operator members who are new to management (less than 5 years) and demonstrate a desire for future growth through contributions to their hospitals or community.

Partnership in Leadership Award

This award recognizes an operator member's facility that demonstrate a strong commitment to self-operation and currently supports the foodservice director or foodservice administrative director.

Spotlight Award

This award recognizes operator members who have enhanced operations through new ideas and industry trends. This may include any of the following: technology, program development, implementation, innovation, sustainability, community impact, mergers/aquisitions, and /or creative use of managing finances.

Questions? Contact Mina Shin - or Sarah Bennett -